After 18 years, Yahoo has decided to shut down its website, Groups. All the content will be deleted in mid-December. According to a statement by Yahoo, users of Groups will no longer be able to upload any content to the site after December 14th.
Features that will be deleted are:
- Email Updates
- Message Digest
- Message History
Yahoo Groups was launched in January of 2001. By 2010 there were over 115 million users who enjoyed the site. However, those people slowly left the platform.
Even after it’s shut down, Yahoo will keep the site online. All public groups will go private, and all messages will be managed through email. If you are an admin, you will still have some control.
For more information on how to save the content of your Group, check out Yahoo’s statement.